Have a question ?
Use our forum

Best pass for following destinations

Hi, I am looking to get a 14 day pass.
But I will be travelling to/from; Osaka, Kitakyushu, Miyama, Ozu, Himeji and Kochi.
Will the JRpass cover travel to all of these destinations?
Thanks in advance for your help


  • Hi,
    You can go to all places by JR except Miyama; JR can take you partway there.
    And while the distance is not that far, trains in rural Shikoku are very slow and infrequent - it will take you about 5 hours to go from Kochi to Ozu or vice-versa.

    You certainly have picked some off the beaten path places. The Ryugado Limestone Cave in Kochi is very nice though, as well as the view from atop Godaisan.

    You can see previews of some of the best places to see in Japan on:

    Hope that helps.
  • Hi Tenjin,
    Thats great, thanks for your help.
    I will be going out there to visit some of my martial arts teachers, but hopefully do some sightseeing along the way.

    I noticed there are regional rail passes.
    Do I just get the standard 14 day pass on the home page to cover them all (apart from Miyama)
  • Hi,
    Yes, there are many regional passes, but only the full JR Pass covers the whole geographic area you will travel through.

    The closest one is the JR Setouchi Area Pass
    but it's only 5 days and does not cover Kochi.
  • Hi Tenjin,
    thanks for the information. That's really useful.
    One last question, As I will be doing several different journeys on different dates, is it possible to book the seats/tickets in one go, or will I need to queue for a ticket for each journey?

    Thanks in advance
  • Hi,
    Seat assignments are free with the full JR Pass and you can get them done one at a time or all at once at any JR office.
    You can see regular fares, routes and schedules on Hyperdia.
    Under "More Options", be sure to uncheck the Nozomi box since you can't ride that train using the pass.
    Please note however that you cannot get seat assignments with the JR Setouchi Area Pass.

Sign In or Register to comment.