Japon
Have a question ?
Use our forum
Options

Which pass is the most convenient for our 16 day trip?

This is my first time in japan with my wife and our trip is the following:

29/8 arrive flight tokio. Tokio - Osaka

30/8 osaka-nara-osaka

31/8 osaka-kyoto

1/9 kyoto

2/9 kyoto

3/9 kyoto-kanazawa
Kanazawa- shirakawago
Shirakawago- takayama

4/9 takayama-nakatsugawa
Nakatsugawa-nagoya

5/9 nagoya-hakone

6/9 hakone-kamakura

7/9 kamakura-tokyo

From 7/9 until 12/9 in tokyo.

I woul like to know if the most interesting option is to putchase a 14 day JR PASS. Or i there is any other option.

I would also like to know if the route is correct or if i could improve it. Maybe we will be many days in tokio but we can do day trips to different places ( which ones you recomend us)

Thank you, jose

Comments

• Options
    Hi,
    A 14 day pass almost pays off with your plans, but you'd need to add a side trip or two from Tokyo to make it pay off. There is no shortage of good places however - you could try Nikko, Karuizawa, the Hitachi Seaside Park, or Kusatsu. IMHO 3-4 days in Tokyo is quite enough.

Otherwise the routing looks good, but a few things you should know - the only way to Shirakawago is by bus, which is not covered by the JR Pass. But it is not far from Kanazawa, and then you can take another bus to Takayama to start using the trains again.
    Also, to see Hakone, you would need to go from Nagoya to Mishima Station. From there the JR Pass won't help you anymore, but you can get a Hakone Free Pass to see the area and save money.
    http://www.odakyu.jp/english/deels/freepass/hakone/
    On the way back though, go to Odawara where you can catch the JR train to Kamakura.
  • Options
    Hello,

I came up with an alternative that would give you very significant savings compared to the 14-day JR Pass.

Order a Takayama-Hokuriku Area Tourist Pass! (13 500 JPY) within 3 months of your trip.

http://touristpass.jp/en/

29/8 Spend a night in Tokyo!