Japon
Have a question ?
Use our forum

10 DAYS TRAVEL IN JAPAN. DO I NEED A JR PASS FOR OSAKA-TOKUSHIMA-KYOTO-NARA?

Dear,
I'm going to Japan in this coming November. I would like to know is it worthy to take JR pass for a 9- 10 days travel in Japan?
Is there any other ways to save costs?

Here is my literary:
Day 1: Osaka Kansai airport
Day 2: Osaka
Day 3: Tokushima Iya Kazurabashi
Day 4: Tokushima Iya Kazurabashi
Day 5: Kyoto
Day 6: Kyoto
Day 7: Kyoto
Day 8: Nara
Day 9: Osaka
Day 10: Osaka Kansai airport

This is my first time to Japan, and i have no ideas where to start.

Thank You.

Comments

• edited May 2018
    Hello Yeesan.

Well, let's see. With your current itinerary you are largely to remain around Kansai, except for a single side trip to Iya Valley in Shikoku.

I think it's a good itinerary on its own. However, the first thing to note is you really don't need a general JR Pass just to get around Kansai (Osaka/Kyoto/Nara). Actually, you would ideally be relying on transport options that aren't covered by JR Pass in this area.

The cost of a round trip from Osaka to the Iya Valley (via Okayama) is 19 thousand yen, and the JR Pass would cover the entire trip, but the cost of a 7-day pass is 29 thousand yen. With your current schedule it would be tricky to make pay off. I'm factoring your trip from the airport and taking Shinkansen to Kyoto.

But actually, there are many regional passes to use in Japan. There's one I have in mind that would actually save you money compared to JR Pass. It's called the JR Kansai Wide Pass.

https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/pass/kansai_wide/